Charlotte's Future
Citywide Newsroom
Citizen Service
Print this PageSite Feedback
Patsy Kinsey, district 1 representative

Patsy Kinsey 

Patsy Kinsey, a democrat, is serving her seventh term as a member of City Council from district 1. She was first elected in 2003.

In July 2013, Kinsey became Charlotte’s second female mayor after being appointed to the office by her colleagues on City Council. She served out the remaining term of Anthony Foxx, who had resigned his post as mayor to serve as U.S. Secretary of Transportation.​ 

She is the council representative to the Discovery Place Board of Directors as well as the Centralina Council of Governments (COG) executive board, where she serves as 1st vice president. She also serves on the Board of the North Carolina League of Municipalities and is president-elect of the National League of Cities’ Women in Municipal Government. 

Kinsey served on the Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners from 1990 to 1994. She has also served on the board of the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners and the North Carolina Child Fatality Task Force. She was a member of the Mecklenburg County ABC Board, the Mecklenburg County Alliance of Excellence in Justice, the Charlotte Mecklenburg Landmarks Commission, and the City of Charlotte Historic District Commission.

Kinsey has served in the following organizations:
  • ​P​ublic Library of Charlotte and Mecklenburg County, chair of board of trustees
  • Mental Health Association, president
  • YWCA, president
  • Criminal Justice Partnership Advisory Board, chair
  • North Carolina Chapter of the March of Dimes, secretary
  • United Family Services, board member
  • Levine Museum of the New South, board member
  • YMCA - Harris Branch, board member
  • Charlotte Center City Partners, board member
She is a graduate of Charlotte Central High School and has three grown children and three grandchildren. 

Contact Patsy Kinsey

2334 Greenway Avenue
Charlotte, NC  28204
Phone: 704-336-3432 or 704-376-5367


Patsy Kinsey participates in the following mayor-appointed council committees:

Related links
City Council focus areas