Charlotte's Future
Citizen Service
Print this PageSite Feedback
Martin Luther King Jr. Annual Medallion Award
The Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Medallion Award is presented each year on Martin Luther King Jr. Day during the National Day of Celebration. It is given to individuals in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg community who exemplify the ideals of Dr. King.

Nominate someone for the Medallion Award.

Nominees should meet the following criteria:

1. Be a resident of Charlotte-Mecklenburg

2. Promote the ideals of racial equality and social justice as espoused by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. including, but not limited to
  • Celebrating and promoting the worth of all human beings
  • Pursuing equal rights by non-violent means
  • Encouraging people of diverse cultures to live together in  a spirit  of love and acceptance
  • Active involvement in community service
  • Resisting injustice wherever it is found
  • Promoting inter-group relations and understanding
Past winners

1985 - Mr. Kelly Alexander, Sr., Mrs. Marion Cannon, Mrs. Kitty Huffman, Mr. Charles Jones
1986 - Mrs. Sarah Stevenson
1987 - Dr. Douglas W. Olderburg
1988 - Mr. Harvey Gantt
1989 - Dr. Loomis McGlohon
1990 - Dr. Leon Riddick
1991 - Mr. Ron Leeper
1992 - Bishop George E. Battle, Jr.
1993 - Ms. Theresa D. Elder
1994 - Mr. Robert L. Davis, Jr.
1995 - Mr. Jack L. Bullard
1996 - Ms. Clara Williams
1997 - Ms. Diane English
1998 - Mr. Joe Martin
1999 - Mr. Malcolm E. Everett III, Mr. James E. Ferguson II
2000 - Judge Shirley Fulton
2001 - Mr. Larry B. Murray
2002 - Mr. Joseph Powell, Dr. Vernon Herron
2003 - Mr. Donald Baker (posthumous), Dr. David Hunter
2004 - Mr. Arthur Griffin, Dr. Wilhelmenia Rembert, Mr. Carson Beckwith, General Cornell A. Wilson, Jr.
2005 - Dr. Clifford Jones
2006 - Lenny Springs
2007 - David L. Taylor
2008 - Julius Chambers, Stephanie Jennings (posthumous), Valerie Woodard (posthumous)
2009 - Pastor Barbara Brewton (posthumous)
2010 - Dr. David Jacobs
2011 - Susan Burgess (posthumous)
2012 - (National observance partnered with McCrorey YMCA)
2013 - Steve Crump