Report A Crime
Our Organization
Our Response Areas
For Your Safety
Our Newsroom
Print this PageSite Feedback
Providence Division

715 N. Wendover Road  Charlotte, NC 28211   phone: 704.336.2878   fax: 704.336.2527

Central Division

Eastway Division

Freedom Division

Hickory Grove Division

Independence Division

Metro Division

North Division

North Tryon Division

Providence Division

South Division

Steele Creek Division

University City Division

Westover Division
                                      
 
              

Providence map

view division map

 Providence Division Commander
 Captain Bannerman Captain Karl Bannerman

phone: 704-336-2125

email: cbannerman@cmpd.org
                                                           
There are 90 Officers, 3 Response Area Lieutenants, 7 Sergeants, a Captain, and an Investigative Technician. Several citizen volunteers also work in the division office.
      The Providence Division comprises nearly 17.6 square miles of historic and established communities including Myers Park, Cotswold, Grier Heights, Cherry, Dilworth, and the SouthPark area. Our office is located at 715 N. Wendover Rd. at the intersection of N. Wendover Rd. and Ellington St. 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 

  Providence Division Key Staff

The Response Area Team is designed to strengthen ownership and accountability for crime reduction and community safety. It enables officers to become more familiar with the people who live and work there, patterns of crime and suspect behaviors, and community resources that may be leveraged to address crime and quality of life issues.
 

 Response Area 1

Lt. Barry
view response area

Lieutenant 
Tom Barry
phone: 704-336-2878
email:
tbarry@cmpd.org
view current Newsletter

Sergeant Mike Smith
Phone: 704-336-2878
msmith2@cmpd.org
 
Sergeant Craig Varnum
Phone: 704-359-4889
cvarnum@cmpd.org

 
Community Coordinators - 704-336-2878
Officer James Gilliland
jgilliland@cmpd.org

Officer Robert Sprague
rsprague@cmpd.org
 


 Response Area 2

Lt. Crooks
view response area

Lieutenant 
Shawn Crooks
phone: 704-336-2878
email:
scrooks@cmpd.org
view current Newsletter

Sergeant Rodney Wilson
Phone: 704-336-2878
rwilson1@cmpd.org 
 
Sergeant Jeff Vilagi
Phone: 704-336-2878
jvilagi@cmpd.org

Community Coordinators - 704-336-2878
Officer Dave Padgett
dpadgett1@cmpd.org  

Officer Dan Kellough
dkellough@cmpd.org
 
 


 Response Area 3

Lt. Newell
view response area

Lieutenant 
Fred Newell
phone: 704-336-2878
email:
fnewell@cmpd.org
view current Newsletter

Sergeant Melissa Kiefer
Phone: 704-724-4322
mkiefer@cmpd.org 

 
Community Coordinators - 704-336-2878
Officer Kamil Waters
kwaters@cmpd.org

Officer Joel Wing
jwing@cmpd.org
 
 
Community Project Crime Awareness & Reduction Effort (C.A.R.E.)
 



School Resource Officer Supervisor
Sergeant Mike Smith
Email: msmith2@cmpd.org



The Providence Division office is not staffed 24 hours a day; however we do have voice mail on our phone line. Your call will be returned as early as possible.

If you want to report a crime and need police assistance in an emergency, dial 911.

If you want to report a crime or other information that does not require the police to respond to you or your location, please dial 311 (non-emergency crime reporting) or the Providence Division Office 704-336-2878.

Crime Alerts -- Receive email alerts about crime in your area.
Yes, please Notify Me

Neighborhood Meetings and News -- get the latest news and information about what's going on in your area.
Yes, please Notify Me

CMPD News -- Subscribe to receive the latest news releases and media briefs via email.
Yes, please Notify Me - News