1. What does Vehicle Assessing do? G.S. 105-330.(c)
The Vehicle Assessing department receives data monthly from the DMV of approximately 45,000 to 60,000 records per month. The department has 20 working days to process the data by placing values on all records plus identifying vehicles having permanently attached equipment (e.g., special truck bodies for towing). This procedure includes sending out and receiving correspondence and following up with phone calls. The department must also verify the situs (i.e., location or garaged address) of the vehicle in each record. The renewal or issue date must be considered as well to determine in what jurisdictions the situs falls. Our goal is to assure that all vehicles in Mecklenburg County have the average market value and that all customer values are equitable.
2. What pricing system does Mecklenburg Co use? G.S. 105-283, 105-330.2(a)1
All 100 counties in the state of North Carolina are contracted with the same vendor for the purpose of determining values for vehicles. A straight book value is not used for valuing purposes.
3. How are the values determined?
The vendor canvasses the local market during the month of January of each year as well as researching the most common vehicle pricing guides. An average is given using this method. This is considered to be the average fair market value for that vehicle as of January 1. A straight book value such as NADA or Blue Book is not used. These guides are used only for reference by Vehicle Assessing.
4. What is the difference between staggered and annual tags? G.S. 105-330.6
Staggered tags are for individual personal passenger vehicles which are renewed throughout the year. Annual tags are for commercial vehicles which always expire as of December 31 of each year and have a 45 day grace period to renew.
5. What does a customer need to do if he has a high mileage vehicle?
The customer must either send in, fax in, or bring into the office, documentation as close to January 1 of the tax year of the bill in question, as possible. They must include a copy of the tax bill. This proof can be an inspection sheet or service record. It must identify the vehicle in question by including the year, make, and identification number. It can not be just a hand written note.
6. What is considered to be an antique vehicle as far as property taxes are concerned?
A vehicle that is 35 years or older and has an antique tag. There are five conditions determined by The Machinery Act Of North Carolina. Interested owners can access an Antique Auto Questionnaire online that they can fill out, print, and return to the Assessor's Office.
7. How does one apply for a reduced value on an antique vehicle?
When the vehicle is registered and an antique tag is assigned to the vehicle, the info is sent to the Vehicle Assessing office from DMV. If the vehicle is 35 years or older, an application will be sent to the customer.
8. What value would be assessed if a vehicle qualifies for a reduction?
9. Why does a customer receive two tax bills for two different years at the same time?
This occurs if a customer fails to renew their tag when their tag expires and waits to renew it months past the renewal month. DMV will issue two stickers for two consecutive years. One is for the past due year, and the second is for the upcoming year if it is close to their renewal month. This results in the billing of two different tax bills in the same year.
10. If I trade cars or sell one vehicle and purchase another, should I transfer the tag or turn it in? (G.S. 105-330.6)
If you are purchasing a more expensive vehicle, it is to your advantage to transfer the tag. If you are purchasing a less expensive vehicle, it is recommended that you turn in your tag and provide a FS-20 (receipt)and proof of sale of vehicle to the Tax Office for a proration.
11. When will I be billed for my new vehicle?
If the previous tag was transferred, you will not receive a bill for the new vehicle until renewing the tag on that vehicle.
12. Why does a customer receive two different tax bills for the same vehicle for the same year?
a. This occurs when a customer renews their tag and then later that year, after having already been billed, decides to get a new tag. Reasons for this may be that their current tag may be damaged, or a customer decides to get a personalized tag or a new one. The customer needs to notify our office, and if the same expiration date was used, we can release the bill for the second tag.
b. If the tag is a replacement tag but the expiration is extended past the date that was on the old tag, a proration is done by the Vehicle Assessing Office.
13. If a customer has a temporary tag and then receives a new tag, will they be billed for both tags?
No. Temporary tags are never billed. If a customer receives a tax bill in error, they will need to notify our office. We will release the tax bill for the temporary tag without further documentation.
14. Where else can I find answers to questions on taxes for my registered motor vehicle, such as payments, blocks on my tag, and billing information?
Follow this link to the Tax Collector's Website: more questions.