About
Residential Services
Special Services
Community Resources
Newsroom
FAQ
Mobile
Print this PageSite Feedback
Solid Waste Leadership Team

The Solid Waste Services Leadership Team consists of the Director, the deputy director and division managers. This team of managers advises the Director on organizational and operational policies and procedures pertaining to their specific area of expertise.  A listing of each member, their area of responsibility, and contact information is below. 

Victoria O. Johnson
Director
Oversees all Solid Waste Services divisions - managing more than 280 employees. Directs and supervises departmental activities associated with the Operations, Customer Service, Fleet Management, Human Resources and Public Service functions of Solid Waste Services.

Contact Victoria O. Johnson
vojohnson@charlottenc.gov

Michelle Moore
Deputy Director

Oversees the Administrative; Contracts; Safety and Training; Technology Services; and Special Services functions of Solid Waste Services.

Contact Michelle Moore
mamoore@charlottenc.gov


Operations Division
The Operations Division provides weekly collection services to residential single-family units and multi-family complexes of less than 30 units. Collection services include the pickup of residential garbage, recyclables, yard waste and bulky items. The Operations division also cleans city-maintained streets and rights-of-way, supports special events, manages the infrastructure and the cleanliness of the Central Business District (CBD), collects small business refuse, dead animals and provides public trash receptacles. The division also provides maintenance for bus stops and trolley corridor in the CBD.

Contact Rodney Jamison
rjamison@charlottenc.gov

Collections
Contact Noble Scott
nscott@charlottenc.gov

Special Services
Contact Les Epperson
lepperson@charlottenc.gov

Public Service Division
The Public Service Division advises Solid Waste leadership on how to develop customer-focused operational policies and procedures. Staff manages the department's relationship with the media, and its outreach and educational programs. The division also performs analysis of city-wide waste reduction/recycling opportunities and recycling trend analysis, researches and coordinates recycling events, as well as researches and applies for grants available for the recycling program.

Contact Esperanza Dash
edash@charlottenc.gov

 

Administration Division
The Administrative Division supports key business activities through coordinated business planning and strategic management of budgetary, fiscal, competitive, contractual and human resource activities.  Administration also manages the outsourced contract for the rollout cart lease agreement and multi-family collection contracts for complexes with 30 or more residential units.

Contact Ellen Price
eprice@charlottenc.gov

Contracts Division
The Contracts Division monitors daily field operations to ensure contract compliance and customer satisfaction. They are also responsible for monitoring the multi-family contract.

Contact Robert Mahoney
rmahoney@charlottenc.gov

Technology Services Division
The Technology Services Division supports key business activities through the management, coordination and implementation of information technology.

Contact Ed Reaves
ereaves@charlottenc.gov  

Safety Division
The Safety Division coordinates internal safety and training activities and facilitates the activities for the Accident Prevention Team.

Contact Chris Teel
cteel@charlottenc.gov