Report A Crime
Our Organization
Our Response Areas
For Your Safety
Our Newsroom
Print this PageSite Feedback
Central Division

​119 E. Seventh Street, Suite 2B  Charlotte, NC 28202   phone: 704.336.5729   fax: 704.336.7307

Central Division

Eastway Division

Freedom Division

Hickory Grove Division

Independence Division

Metro Division

North Division

North Tryon Division

Providence Division

South Division

Steele Creek Division

University City Division

Westover Division
                                      
 
              

Central map

view division map

 Central Division Commander
 Mike Campagna Captain Mike Campagna

phone: 704-336-5729

email: mcampagna@cmpd.org
                                                           
There are 87 sworn Officers, 7 Sergeants, 3 Response Area Lieutenants, 1 Captain and 1 Investigative Technician allocated to the Central Division.
The office is located at 119 E. Seventh St., at the corner of E.Seventh and N. College Streets.
      The Central Division comprises nearly 4.2 square miles of business, residential, recreational and academic communities. The estimated residential population is 20,000, but that number swells to well over 100,000 during business hours. On the nights and weekends, the scene changes dramatically into a vibrant entertainment district. The Central Division is home to Bank of American Stadium (Carolina Panthers), Time Warner Cable Arena (Charlotte Hornets) and BB & T Ball Park (Charlotte Knights). Uptown Charlotte hosts more than 12 million regional visitors each year! Two of the country's largest banks are headquartered in uptown as well as a great variety of other corporate entities. The Central Division is home to several academic institutions: Central Piedmont Community College, Johnson & Wales University, the uptown branch of the University of North Carolina at Charlotte as well as campuses for Wake Forest and the Charlotte School of Law. Historic South End is a lively arts community which adds even more diversity. 
 
 


 

  Central Division Key Staff

The Response Area Team is designed to strengthen ownership and accountability for crime reduction and community safety. It enables officers to become more familiar with the people who live and work there, patterns of crime and suspect behaviors, and community resources that may be leveraged to address crime and quality of life issues.
 

 Response Area 1

Lt. Moorefield
view response area

Lieutenant 
Bret Balamucki
phone: 704-336-5730
email:
bbalamucki@cmpd.org
view current Newsletter

Community Coordinators
Officer Mark Rowland
mrowland@cmpd.org

Officer Vinton Simpson
vsimpson@cmpd.org

​​


 
 
 Response Area 2

Lt. Carey
view response area

Lieutenant 
Joseph Carey 
phone: 704-336-5730
email:
jcarey@cmpd.org
view current Newsletter


Community Coordinators
Officer Jennifer Bumgarner
jbumgarner1@cmpd.org

Officer Rick Hough
rhough@cmpd.org




 Response Area 3

Lt. Kendall
view response area

Lieutenant 
Ryan Kendall   
phone: 704.336.5730
email:
rkendall@cmpd.org
view current Newsletter

Community Coordinators
Officer Shawn Franklin
jfranklin1@cmpd.org

Officer Mike King
mking@cmpd.org
cell: 704-200-8974





Investigative Technician
Azara Ratliff
Phone: 704-336-5729
Email: aratliff@cmpd.org


The Central Division office is not staffed 24 hours a day; however we do have voice mail on our phone line. Your call will be returned as early as possible.

If you want to report a crime and need police assistance in an emergency, dial 911.

If you want to report a crime or other information that does not require the police to respond to you or your location, please dial 311 (non-emergency crime reporting) or the Central Division Office 704-336-5729.

Crime Alerts -- Receive email alerts about crime in your area.
Yes, please Notify Me

Neighborhood Meetings and News -- get the latest news and information about what's going on in your area.
Yes, please Notify Me

CMPD News -- Subscribe to receive the latest news releases and media briefs via email.
Yes, please Notify Me - News